The work of a user group is organized by workspaces, allowing them to collaborate in a structured way. A workspace serves as an assembly place for all use cases shared by a user group, potentially split by topic.
The default workspace
Each user's personal user group contains a single workspace: the default workspace.
The default workspace shares all the same characteristics of a normal workspace, with two additional properties:
The default workspace cannot be deleted. It is always there, and though a user is not obligated to make use of it, it will keep existing withing their TIM environment.
The default workspace is on the default 'working directory' of the TIM Engine. If any requests are sent to TIM - from any platfrom, SDK or directly through the API - without specification of the relevant workspace, the resulting data will be handled in this default workspace, in the personal user group of the user who made the request.
The workspaces overview
In the workspaces overview, a user will find a list of all the workspaces they have access to. Relevant metadata - such as the user group a workspace belongs to, and the number of use cases and experiments it contains - can be seen directly from this overview.
In this page, new workspaces can be added, and existing workspaces can be edited and deleted.
Adding: Adding a new workspace allows the user to select the user group it belongs to and set its name and description.
Editing: Editing a workspace allows you to update its name and its description.
Deleting: Be careful with deleting a workspace: deleting a workspace will also permanently delete any data contained in this workspace. This includes all datasets and use cases contained in it, the experiments contained in these use cases and the ML jobs contained in these experiments.
The workspace in detail
In a workspace's detail page (use cases overview page), all of the information regarding the workspace can be found. This includes the name, the use cases that can be found in the workspace and their description, the most recent experiments in each of the use cases and the most recent dataset versions related to each of the use cases.
From this page, a user can easily browse to a specific use case, experiment or dataset (version) of interest. A user can also create a new use case in the workspace, edit or delete an existing use case or import a use case into the workspace.
Creating: Creating a new use case allows the user to set its name and description, as well as the business objective, business value, business KPI and accuracy impact of the use case.
Editing: Editing a use case allows the user to update its name, description, business objective, business value, business KPI and accuracy impact.
Deleting: Be careful with deleting a use case: deleting a use case will also permanently delete any data contained in this use case. This includes the experiments contained in it and the ML jobs contained in these experiments.
Importing: Importing a use case empowers users to collaborate with people outside of the user group and even outside of their license. It also provides an intuitive way to start exploring exemplary templates from the Use Case Library.