Skip to content

User Groups

UserGroups.png

A user group is a group of people collaborating on the same projects and with the same data. User groups can be composed of any combination of the users of a particular license. This section provides more information on user groups and how to manage them.

The personal user group

As soon as a user is created, they are assigned a personal user group. This personal user group is designed to contain all of a user's personal work, that is not (yet) intended to be shared with others

UserGroup.png

The personal user group shares all the same characteristics of a normal user group, with three additional properties:

  • The personal user group cannot be deleted. It is always there, and though a user is not obligated to make use of it, it will keep existing withing their TIM environment.

  • The personal user group is the default. If any requests are sent to TIM - from any platfrom, SDK or directly through the API - without specification of the relevant user group, the resulting data will be handled in the personal user group of the user who made the request.

  • No workspaces can be added to the personal user group. A default workspace exists in this user group, which is always present and can be used for any personal work.

The user groups overview

In the user groups overview, a user will find a list of all the user groups they are a part of. Relevant metadata - such as the amount of users and workspaces contained in the user group, and who the owners are - can be seen directly from this overview.

UserGroupsOverview.png

In this page, new user groups can be added, and existing user groups can be edited and deleted (by their owners).

  • Adding: Adding a new user group allows you to set the group's name and description, and include users as desired. A user will always be a part of any user group they create.

  • Editing: Editing a user group allows you to update the group's name, its description and the list of its members.

  • Deleting: Be careful with deleting a user group: deleting a user group will also permanently delete any data contained in this user group. This includes all datasets and workspaces contained in it, the use cases contained in those workspaces, further down all the way to the ML jobs.

The user group in detail

In a user group's detail page, all of the information regarding the user group can be found. This includes the name and description, the users that are a member of the group and which of them have the "Owner" role, and the workspaces that the user group is working in.

UserGroupNonPersonal.png

From this page the user group can be edited and deleted too (by owners).

  • Editing: Editing a user group allows you to update the group's name, its description and the list of its members.

  • Deleting: Be careful with deleting a user group: deleting a user group will also permanently delete any data contained in this user group. This includes all datasets and workspaces contained in it, the use cases contained in those workspaces, further down all the way to the ML jobs.